Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, I'm new on this forum so I hope I posted this in the right spot. I ordered a Usra 0-6-0 with Smoke and Vanderbilt Tender - U.P. 4441 (Greyhound) from Bachmann. The price seemed alright to me. I'm also new to Bachmann.(I'm a Atheann guy) Is Bachmann a good train co? I also know on the 0-6-0 that the front knuckle is a dummy but is this a alright train?

·
Registered
62 Posts
Bachmann

Depends who you talk to. I am sure there are plenty of opinions. I think a lot depends on which price point you are comfortable with. I would not rate Bacmann higher than Athearn but than again thats me. Just my opinion.
Happy New Year
Wayne

·
Registered
5,256 Posts
Welcome...:thumbsup:

As long as it's not the older Bachmann (if it runs without the tender attached) then you should be all right. They were notorious for cracking drive gears and underpowered motors---they used the same motor in their trolleys as well as their big steam. Their big steam was so bad that Bowser offered a re-powering kit and they earned the nickname "Botchmann"...

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Alright, buying this steamer was really just more of a test to see the quality of Bachmann so hopefully it turns out good!

·
Registered
5,256 Posts
I still buy the older Bachmann, but only because I know what I'm getting, they still look awesome and they can be had for real cheap from knowledgeable sellers...

·
Registered
226 Posts