Model Train Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So one of my blessings has been a wife that appreciates the fulfillment I get from this recently discovered hobby of modeling. Being a family of "crafters", she's been supportive of my late nights and curious infatuation with seeing everything in HO scale.

That being said, I have helped my cause by creating building on the layout for each of the kids and some family as well. Needing to stay in her good graces, it's past due that she have her own building. Plus I need to start upgrading our main street!

Here goes my first shot working with styrene brick sheet...and building a dance studio / apartment building.

DSCN6853.jpg

I've been playing with these agenda inserts for two years, trying to visualize what they could "really" be for...

Finally decided to try out a quick build and see if they could be used for dentil work or ornamental stone work.

DSCN6856.jpg

I think this'll work...
~Kingred

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Meg's Dance Studio - continued

So this has been my fastest project by far. Started Sat and by Monday night (late!) was shaping into a completed shell. Had Tuesday off due to Super Storm and have been thrilled with progress.

First - made my building's cornice (? please excuse any misuse of architectural terms, and feel free to educate me).

DSCN6894.jpg

Next, after making a mock-up from foam core, decided to fashion front and back walls from Plastruct 1:100 scale bricks. In order to save material, opted for clapboard sides.

DSCN6898.jpg

With usual cutting, resizing, layout and redesign of walls, doors and windows, came up with this:

DSCN6904.jpg

Using up all my spare windows and doors was fun - gives me an excuse to order more! Used some bedazzle! jewel type thingys for the rectangular details between windows. I like how they are pretty subtle.

DSCN6907.jpg