Model Train Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to HO, previous N scale for years. I've read about problems with #4 Kato switches. Does the problem still exist or has it been corrected? Want to use some #4s, but not looking for problems with my new HO project.

·
Registered
844 Posts
I've been running a small-sized railroad (based on the MR plan "Black River Junction", but with modifications) for a couple of years now.

All track is Kato, and I use all their various switches:
  • #4 powered
  • #4 manual
  • #6 powered
  • #6 manual

The #4 switches are "power-routing" and this is fixed, cannot be changed.
With the manual switches, you can change them from "power-routing" to "NON-power-routing" by reconfiguring two screws on the bottom.
I don't remember if power-routing is selectable on the #6 powered switches or not.

Having said that, I'll mention glitches/problems I've had:
  • The powered switches cannot be disassembled (take bottom plate off) without breaking them -- or at least I haven't discovered how to.
  • The manual switches CAN have the bottom plates removed if you need to for some reason. There are numerous parts "in there", but they all can be fit back together and the back can be replaced.
  • I've had the powered switch motors "seize up" on both a #4 and a #6. As mentioned above, I couldn't get the back panel off without messing up "the works" inside, and there doesn't seem to be a way to "free up" the motor or replace it if need be.