Model Train Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a 74-yr old newbie with utterly no exp w model railroading or any similar craft/hobby. I recently purchased a new n scale Kato EMD diesel and two new, different sets of Kato freight cars. The couplers on all of the cars, regardless of set, are appreciably, visibly lower than the coupler on the loco. Indeed, they are so much lower that they slide almost completely UNDER the loco coupler. This can’t be correct (can it?). Any advice on what the problem is or what to do about (I’ve an micro-trains n scale coupler height gauge on order but will be a week or more before I receive)? Much thanks in advance.

·
Registered
228 Posts
Good point are we talking HO or N scale, Ho would be Kadee, N would be MTL if I'm not mistaken.
I have two N scale Kato loco's and have to say not a big fan of Kato couplers.
They do hook well with my MTL rolling stock however it does take some some effort once and awhile.
Don't have any Kato rolling stock so can't comment on that aspect.

·
Registered
12,295 Posts
Good point are we talking HO or N scale, Ho would be Kadee, N would be MTL if I'm not mistaken.
I have two N scale Kato loco's and have to say not a big fan of Kato couplers.
They do hook well with my MTL rolling stock however it does take some some effort once and awhile.
Don't have any Kato rolling stock so can't comment on that aspect.
Well seeing as he posted in the N Scale forum, I'm gonna go out on a limb and say N scale....

Reactions: sid

·
Registered
12,295 Posts