Model Train Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to model railroading and have come up with a rough sketch of my layout. I guess it is like a point to point operation, as I don't have the room for a loop. The scheme with my layout is that it will operate as a scenic passenger railway. The locomotive will leave out from point A (see pic) pulling 2 to 3 cars to point B. Once at point B there would be a layover before the Train headed back. Once the train leaves point B the locomotive would reverse course and push the cars back to point A. I need input on whether or not this setup would work? Any special wiring or devices needed? I do not want an automatic system, I will control the train myself so no need for an auto reverse.
20200418_055159.jpg

·
Railroad Tycoon
23,526 Posts
Hi, welcome to the site.
What scale train you planning on running?
And how much room do you have?
* how big is the board going to be?

I guess you want to focus on the scenery more because you don't have the room?

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work. I would suggest if you have the room that you use passing sidings at points A & B so the loco can run around the cars and pull the train. The loco will still be in reverse put will be pulling instead of pushing. This would look best with a road switcher.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi, welcome to the site.
What scale train you planning on running?
And how much room do you have?
* how big is the board going to be?

I guess you want to focus on the scenery more because you don't have the room?
I plan on running N Scale. I'm building it on a ledge in my rec room that is about 1 foot wide by 20 feet long. Scenery will be a large part, but I plan on incorporating a bridge or two and one level crossing.

·
Railroad Tycoon
23,526 Posts
Well 20 foot is a nice length, 2 foot wide would be better if you can.
Then you could add more, 1 1/2 better too.