Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
385 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am extremely new to this hobby and know little to nothing. I have this odd spare room in my house that is attached on to my kitchen. It is fully open on one side into the kitchen. I am thinking of building a false floor in this room to use it for a layout. The room is roughly 5.5x7 foot. What scale should I be looking at to have a decent layout in that size of a room?

·
16,666 Posts
I am thinking of building a false floor in this room to use it for a layout.
DBF,

You lost me on that one ... a "false floor" for a layout? What's going through your mind there? Key us in on what you're thinking, and we'll bounce back with some ideas.

Cheers,

TJ

·
Registered
385 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
the room has a plug in roughly 3.5 foot up on the wall... It only has 3 sides... I am going to use the whole room as the layout... and it will be viewable from the 4th open side. So essentially just wanted to build a box the same shape/size of the room to just a few inches above that plugin... The only concerns I have is reaching stuff in the back but I previously read someone who had pop up pieces of scenary to reach back pieces.

·
Registered
385 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Or I also thought about making the box L shaped so I could step in the middle but I figured that it would take away precious real estate.

·
Registered
2,138 Posts
Depending on the amount of trains you want to run I would say HO or N scale. HO is more common and generally cost less in the long run, especially if you use the used market. You do need to keep in mind the type of locomotives you will be running. HO GPs and there 4 axil locos can make up to a 15r turn if needed, as can 40' and less rolling stock. To go bigger than that you will need 18r minimum turns. Steamers (other than switchers) will require 22r turns unless designed for a smaller radius.
15r turn = 30 inches to turn the train 180 degrees.