Model Train Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I have two Lionel 8403 (4-2-4) units that I've been given and am trying to get running properly for the holidays. Both units have the same problem. They will go forward, but not reverse. When the e-unit is engaged the unit will cycle F-N-N-N-F. They have the PCB e-units which I suspect is the problem. However, after doing some reading on some forums, including this one, and I have gotten different solutions. Some say it's best to replace the motor along with the e-unit and some say to replace the whole motor assembly with the older mechanical e-unit.
I did do some testing on the motors with a 9v battery connected directly to the motor. In this case, both motors will run forward and reverse when I switch polarity. I am also using post-war transformers. I don't know if that causes problems with the PCB e-units.
I am relatively new to this and appreciate the help.

·
Registered
648 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

As you suspect, the electronic 'E' unit boards are faulty.
The motors check OK, so they don't need to be replaced now, but the brushes on them wear out after time and then they will need replacement.
Replace the boards, as they are known to fail and you will be back in business. Replace the motors also to be safe.

Larry

·
Registered
2,220 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

As you suspect, the electronic 'E' unit boards are faulty.

Larry
I concur. The OP's list of the direction sequence "F-N-N-N-F" would suggest that the board's reverse drive electronics have failed: the power transistors or their electronic triggers.

·
Admin
44,380 Posts
Larry is right, those transistors are frequently toasted by the crappy motors they used, so it's normal to follow Larry's advice and replace the motor with the reverse board. Truthfully, I'd probably consider a spike suppression capacitor at least across the motor leads.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5