hoped to be sifting through many daily posts looking
for and adding information.

Here's an issue: I've been a woodworker for over
30 years and finally, for health/safety reasongs
gave it up at Christmastime--prompted by my three
daughters giving me a train set to get me re-started
on a former hobby of years ago. I was very excited
and moved by their gift, which is a Lionel set, but
asked if they minded if we swapped it for an HO set.
Of course, they didn't mind a bit. Here's the rub, the
owner of the shop in Portland, Maine refuses to either
take it back, which I understand, it's a small shop or
exchange it, which I don't understand. I really have
no interest in or space for a Lionel layout (no offense
to Lionel people: it's just that HO is what I had years
ago). If his mind can't be changed (my Portland
daughter is going to badger him again tomorrow) I/we
are stuck with a new Lionel set. Any suggestions?

eagle37

eagle37

·
Registered
2,617 Posts
Yea, I check this forum a whole lot every day, along with all of my other ones... I am always saddened when I do not see the RR-XING sign surrounded by red

Anyways, that is rough that they will not even let you exhange it for an HO set... Did you ever open the Lionel set? I do not see how they would be taking a loss in this, besides possibly loosing you as a customer

You could possibly try selling it on eBay, but you will probably have to take a loss if you do this...

·
Registered
5,659 Posts