Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a loco on the enternet in size HO, I have 3 loco in HO that are 6"lg so I though sizes 6-8"lg. I received the shipment and 1 loco was in this range but the other was about 11-12" lg. how can you know how long the loco will be before seeing it. I'm new to buying model trains and don't know a lot in my 2-3months.I send the loco back to seller
are they some way to know how long the loco will be.
There has to be some way to find out how big it will be when you get it, please let me know the secert please.
THANKS FOR ANY INFRO
AL

Registered
Remember that HO is a scale. That means, to an accuracy of between 95 and 99%, the loco's dimensions in scale will match the real world prototype's dimensions. So, if they are selling a 4-8-4 or an SD-70ACe, you can google the locomotive's dimensions and divide everything by 87 to get the real size in HO. A Norfolk & Western Class A 2-6-6-4 is about 120' from pilot to the beam aft of the tender. 120/87 = 16.5", so you can expect the locomotive and tender in HO to be just over 16" long. Similarly, the diesel is 74', so in scale it would be about 11" coupler to coupler.

Premium Member
What kind of locos are you talking about, steam or diesel?
One good way to see how big a loco is would be to Google the
Railroad name and the number on the loco. IE. Santa Fe #26 is an EMD F3 4 axle diesel about 7 inches long.
Southern Pacific #6005 is an Alco PA-1 6 axle loco about 9 inches long.

These are locos from the 1950 and 1960, more modern locos could be even longer.
As a guide, a diesel loco with 4 axles (eight wheels) will be much shorter than one with 6 axles (12 wheels).

Steam locos are much more complicated. As a general rule the more large driving wheels the bigger the loco,
but that isn't always the case.