Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I just obtained a locomotive that doesn't work. Put it on tracks, other loco does work, where should I start with diagnosing it? Any thoughts? Forgive me for being totally NON Mechanical in skills and knowledge...lol I've been a cop too long...lol Do I take the engine out and re-hook it up???...I have no clue ...lol Bottom line is it doesn't run. Sorry if its a stupid basic question but I got the engine for cheap and I'd like to get it running again
Tell me what Info you need. Its a Mantua Pennsylvania "Diesel" style locomotive from the 70s I believe..

·
Registered
47 Posts
Does it sound like it kind of works...like the wheels are stuck?

OIL, and clean ,OIL and clean and more OIL then clean....check this thread out...

http://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=1882

This should get you started ....look for any loose wires and re solder etc...Up to you to depends on how much time and worth of the loco etc...hopefully it just needs a good clean and lube.

·
Premium Member
16,666 Posts
Shy of shooting it with a .44, are you able to take off the shell and expose the motor and trucks (mounts for wheels)? If so, maybe snap a few pics to post.

Any sounds/motions of life at all? Maybe if you give it a little push?

Is there a bulb/light in the loco? Does that look like it's getting power?

How dirty and/or tarnished are the contact wheels? If these are bad, then you might simply be not getting any significant power into the engine. Try cleaning with an eraser tip, q-tips, etc.

Next option to check is wiring (shorts, broken connections, etc.). After that, guys here might have to open things up a bit more to inspect and clean the motor armature and contact brushes. Explanations on that later ...

Post pics!

Good luck!

TJ

·
Registered
5,256 Posts
Its a Mantua Pennsylvania "Diesel" style locomotive...