Model Train Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I purchased my first locomotive from ebay as a new item, only tested to ensure it ran. To keep things simple because I am new to the hobby I kept my initial freight cars strictly micro train due to the reviews I read about how well made their couplers/cars are.

As you can see from the photos, my kato loco has a low slung coupler when compared to and coupled with the MT cars. I was able to remove the shell and I am not seeing much in the way of adjustment. I have an email into Micro trains to see what coupler part # would solve this problem but in the interim was hoping I could learn a bit and maybe solve this problem until then.

Removed some items due to ebay dispute.

·
Registered
231 Posts
That whine is definitely NOT normal. I've only ever heard that kind of racket out of the ex-wife or the rear end on my truck before it exploded. Got me what could be causing it!

As for the coupler height...maybe it's just the angle of the shot but it looks like the MT coupler is too high-or the trip pin is pressed in too far.

You need one of these: https://www.modeltrainstuff.com/micro-trains-n-98800031-1055-coupler-height-gauge/

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That whine is definitely NOT normal. I've only ever heard that kind of racket out of the ex-wife or the rear end on my truck before it exploded. Got me what could be causing it!

As for the coupler height...maybe it's just the angle of the shot but it looks like the MT coupler is too high-or the trip pin is pressed in too far.

You need one of these: https://www.modeltrainstuff.com/micro-trains-n-98800031-1055-coupler-height-gauge/
yeah that's what I was afraid of sound wise.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Have you tried it without the shell on it?? I have had some that made a whining sound so I took the shell off and it would stop. made some adjustments on the shell and it never came back.