Model Train Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
still working on gettin' my set up running; need 4 ltc lockons but finding them to be way too expensive; anyone know of an alternative way to accomplish the same?

thanks,

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
will try that...…...….but was hoping for something easier since I've no real experience with a soldering gun....gonna have to get one that has enuff "power"...………...thks

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
glad u sent the photo; I never thought of that approach; so any kind of metal will work?; you solder the metal strip to the rail?; and add a piece of installation material to the middle rail metal strip ?; if so, I think that method would better suit me;
thks

·
Registered
629 Posts
The LTC lockon is Lionel's lighted lockon. Three available here.
The alternative is to use a regular CTC lockon and wire a 14-18 volt bulb across the terminals. You could get a bulb with pigtails, or get a screw or bayonet base bulb with an appropriate socket wired across the terminals.

Larry

·
Registered
559 Posts
what about ebay.. they are on there and not expensive.. ive almost bought some then realized i had some in a box... but eventually when i move hopefully in a year, i will go more permanent layout and just solder wires to the bottom side...

fwiw - if you have not soldered.. you should.. definitely get one and learn... it isnt tough and something to always have handy...

also if you could find a hakko 936 soldering station.. they are like $100 used now...
there is a knockoff that works WONDERS...
and very cheap.
im in an rc car forum and that is how i learned about it..
i paid $29 to my door. including shipping. was shipped in US so didnt take long to get either... even if so.. this station new non knock off is like $150!!!!

with US plug..

and you can read all the stuff people said in here...