plenty of smoke fluid so what could
be the problem? Any suggestions as to how
I can get it working again would be
greatly appreciated. Thx.
TLDiff

·
Registered
121 Posts
I replaced the wick in my 666 with pink attic insulation after it stopped smoking. It smokes like a house on fire now. Although I can't tell you exactly how I did it (it was a while ago), I do remember that it was quite easy to do. I had never done it before, and had no trouble at all. Most Marx repairs are easy, as the motors are quite simple.

·
Admin
44,211 Posts
You have to take the shell off, and then for most smoke units, the top can be removed to expose the wick. I confess to having never worked on a Marx smoke unit, so I can't be more specific, but we have folks that have been around that block. Hopefully one of the Marx "experts" will drop in. :)

·
Yard Master & Research
10,648 Posts
I am no smoke expert but I have a Marx sealed plastic smoke unit. You may have to destroy it. to fix it. I am unfamiliar with the 666 smoke unit. Maybe seek out a common HO smoke unit and try to install that?

·
Registered
121 Posts
As I stated before, it's easy to make the existing unit work better. No need to destroy or swap anything.

I am no smoke expert but I have a Marx sealed plastic smoke unit. You may have to destroy it. to fix it. I am unfamiliar with the 666 smoke unit. Maybe seek out a common HO smoke unit and try to install that?

·
Registered
226 Posts
The 666 smoke unit is die-cast and is split vertically. Pins moulded into one half fit into holes in the other and then are peened.