Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yes I'm still a newbie lol. Laying two tracks side by side is it 1 1/16 or 1 1/4 inch between the rails? thanks for any reply's

·
Registered
9,851 Posts
Best answer is to teach you to fish. Go to the NMRA (that's National Model Railroad Association; yeah, it's a thing) website and look at their standards and recommended practices. In this case, you'll want RP-7. Here is a link to the page: NMRA Standards and Recommended Practices

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Since I don't have the patience for standards and mumbo stuff I'll just do it my way. After all it's my railroad. But I do thank you

·
Registered
4,538 Posts
Since you don't have the patience, why did you ask? Just go ahead and do it yourself!

Reactions: telltale

·
Registered
674 Posts
I agree with Fire21 !! He even gave you a link to simply click with one finger and you still dissed him !!

·
Registered
4,153 Posts
Since I don't have the patience for standards and mumbo stuff I'll just do it my way. After all it's my railroad. But I do thank you
RonnieC;

If you don't have patience, and plenty of it, and if your not willing to look up what you call "mumbo stuff", then maybe model railroading, or at least this forum, isn't for you.
This hobby requires near infinite patience to do many things.
If you ask a question on this forum, you're likely to get answers, probably several, often conflicting, and practically never restricted to only whatever narrowly framed answer you expected. One that will fit neatly into your preconceptions.
For example, an intelligent answer to your question about the spacing between parallel tracks is not as simple as picking one of the two dimensions you quoted in your question. What radius curves you are using, and what length locomotives and cars will need to travel through those curves, will both affect the track spacing.