Model Train Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Railroad Tycoon
23,417 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

It's not appropriate to say "Happy Memorial Day," just as you wouldn't celebrate a loved one's funeral.
This is a time to remember our fallen, it should be a somber reminder of the brave sacrifice men and women have made to keep the United States a free and just society.
Memorial Day is for them.

How will your Memorial Day be different this year?

·
Registered
2,578 Posts
When I was growing up my mother always called it Decoration Day

To honor the deceased, soldiers would decorate graves of their fallen comrades with flowers, flags and wreaths. Hence Decoration Day. Although Memorial Day became its official title in the 1880s, the holiday wouldn’t legally become Memorial Day until 1967.

·
Registered
4,340 Posts
As a Veteran, I always say howdy to fellow Veterans when I see them (can usually tell by the hat). God bless everyone who served, living or dead. Our country survives because of what we did. May she continue!

·
Registered
868 Posts
View attachment 543010 View attachment 543011

It's not appropriate to say "Happy Memorial Day," just as you wouldn't celebrate a loved one's funeral.
This is a time to remember our fallen, it should be a somber reminder of the brave sacrifice men and women have made to keep the United States a free and just society.
Memorial Day is for them.

How will your Memorial Day be different this year?
The celebrations surrounding Memorial Day are no more intended to celebrate the death of those who made the ultimate sacrifice for our country than a wake is to celebrate the death of a loved one but rather to celebrate that deceased person's life and the happiness their life brought to those who knew her or him and so similarly, people across our country celebrate this long weekend to both solemnly remember those fallen soldiers but also to commemorate the enduring freedoms the sacrifices made by those honored soldiers have ensured us.

·