Model Train Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Awesome scenery. Hopefully mine is that successful when I get to that stage on my layout. At this point I have my benchwork built and have a double track main just laid down to test what I’m working on that week. Still coming up with a good track plan to use that I’ll be happy with

·
Registered
321 Posts
I am a mobile equipment mechanic so I go to a lot of the local mines and get to see places in them most people only see from google earth. One industry I want to do is model wedron silica in wedron il just instead of a silica mine I want it to be a coal mine due to me modeling the transition era so it will be a more appropriate industry

·
Registered
258 Posts
Coal mining will be the biggest industry on my layout. That has always been the plan since I was a kid. I was born and raised in coal fields of SW Virginia. I have watched many tons of the stuff roll up and down the tracks. Norfolk Southern primarily did the pulling. CSX operated several engines out and about as well.

I collected coal mining stickers when I was a kid. I still have about 6 thick photo albums page after page of all the coal mining companies big and small.

I thought it would be a good idea to use some of the company stickers for signage on the layout. I am going to try to reduce the size of some of them then print them on decal sheet paper. They could be used for vehicle door signs, on the heavy equipment or even some train cars for that matter.