Model Train Forum banner

MTH proto 2.0 boards

12K views 53 replies 11 participants last post by  gunrunnerjohn 
#1 ·
The upper and lower boards in my engine are called proto sound boards but one of these or both control forward and reverse. Can the engine run without the "sound" board?

#34 ·
Hello,

My name is Mr. Brown
I am new to model trains and I bought one on eBay that does not work. I want to buy a new PS/2 board for my Rail King MTH Southern Pacific Gs-4 Steamer with Proto Sound locomotive. I saw a comment you made in the discussion thread with this link MTH proto 2.0 boards

You uploaded a picture of the board I want to buy and you said it is a 5V version. Could you tell me the model# for the board and where I could buy it? My email is kbrowneng77@gmail Thank you.

#7 ·
Get the 5 amp board. A close review of the BlueRail spec.'s shows the amp rating in the name is not the same as the sustained amp rating of the board. The ratings for the 2 amp board is 2 amps peak and 1.5 amps continuous. The ratings for the 5 amp board is 5 amps peak and 3 amps continuous. And I would opt for the 150' range. Not becuase you need the distance, but to insure you don't lose signal for whatever reason.

#10 ·
It would seem that "5-Amp" module operates in two modes.

In "Basic" mode the module controls the motor and a couple of functions (lights) via the wireless App.

In "DCC mode" the modules receives commands from the wireless app and conveys them to a connected DCC compliant decoder module. The decoder module can have sound (speaker output) and many functions controlled by the app. But in DCC mode, it's the decoder module that supplies power to the motors. Most DCC decoders are made for HO and a few for G-scale. The trick is to find a DCC decoder that can handle the power requirements of an O-scale MTH engine.

Here's "DCC mode"

#12 ·
You don't need any DCC equipment or control system. Just to be clear ...