Model Train Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a model railroad hobbie novice and looking for some insight into an issue that is plaguing me before I have really started. I read that there are some wiring issues with Atlas O-54 / 72 turnouts which I believe I have sorted. However I have two MTH steam engines (PS2) that have pickup rollers which are spaced relitively close to eachother. When these engines cross other switches there are no theatrics. However when they hit the aforementioned O-54 /72 switch, the engines abruptly stop and begin their shutdown sequence.

Total newbie question, but do all DCS controlled engines need to have at least one pickup roller touching the center rail at all times to operate? (or is this a PS2 aliment?) At this particular junction, since the rollers on these engines are so close together neither is touching a powered center rail at its mid point / point of shutdown. (Power at outside rails and center rails are continuous after a bit of re-wiring / soldering)

I have taken the engines and tenders apart to check for shorts / loose wires, and inspected all pickup connections and have not been able to find the "smoking gun" if you will.... Any thoughts / suggestions / tips would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
4,773 Posts
All engines need to have at least one pickup touching the center rail. You might be able to get through the switch if you go fast enough. You mention that the pickups are close together so I’m guessing the locos are switchers. Some folks have put an extra pickup on one of the tender trucks to solve this problem.

·
Registered
2,803 Posts
... You mention that the pickups are close together so I’m guessing the locos are switchers. Some folks have put an extra pickup on one of the tender trucks to solve this problem.
+1. An extra tether wire from the tender center pickup to the loco is the dominant solution.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·