Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at a layout. I have no train gear at all. I'm starting completely from scratch. No materials or anything.

I did have a set of HO scale when I was a kid, but I never did much with it. Now I want to do some actually modeling along with the track.

Most terms are still new to me and I would appreciate it if you didn't use acronyms in your responses so that I can learn what they all are. :)

I plan on doing a pretty simple HO scale layout. I don't want my first attempt to be too complicated. I will have two tracks going around a 8'x4' board. Five of my corners are planned at 18" and three are at 15". Am I making a mistake? I've seen some posts that say I should be weary of 15" turns. Take a look at the picture to see how I plan the track to work.

I used the string to measure how much track I'm going to need. The tracks are spaced three inches apart from center to center. Is that enough room or should I space them out even more?

I would appreciate any help that you can give me. As I said I'm brand new and I'm trying to stay away from costly mistakes by doing plenty of planning. I do plan on getting the 8x4 board tomorrow along with some foam that I can start cutting up and playing around with.

·
Registered
193 Posts
15 inch radius will limit you to smaller locos, and maybe some rolling stock.

Other than that, it looks like a good start.

Oh, and that turnout on the lower left.......it'll run your trains off the table.:rolleyes:

Jody

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
Well I've finished with my first day of work. Like I said before. I don't have any track yet, but I wish I could lay some down to see how things worked out. I did change the corners. The outside is 22" and the inside is 18". I'm glad I didn't go with the 15" corners.