Model Train Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this, so forgive any ignorance. I'm trying to plan this ahead so I about mistakes or disappointment. Here is my basic plan. I need to try and get this into one of the design planning programs, they are just kind of awkward I'm my opinion, so it seemed easier to start with this. And using the programs to do a flex track curve is almost impossible. I'm aiming for a double oval with a tunnel on one end for one track. Flex track for the large oval bends and r18 for the inner track. I'm hoping for a max table width of 42", 40" would be even better.

All that said, what is the minimum distance between rails (HO)?

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,028 Posts
If you do 18" radius curves on the inner loop, that will put the center-line of the inner loop from one side of the table to the other at 36". Note that this is the center-line. Outside to outside will be closer to 38-1/2". Give yourself 2" track spacing, so now you're looking at 42-1/2" outer edge to outer edge from one side of the table to the other. You should really have at least 1-1/2" between the table edge and the track, and even then you will need some type of barrier 2-3" higher than the table edge all along each side to keep the train from taking the death plunge to the floor. 1/8" hardboard would suffice. So with two tracks as you propose the minimum table width I would go for would be 45-3/4". Spare another 2-1/4" and you have a 48" wide table, the width of a standard sheet of plywood. So in all practicality, trying to run two tracks with the inner on 18" radius on a 40-42" wide table really isn't going to work. Is there any way at all you can go 48"? If reaching across the table is an issue, put the layout on casters so you can pull it away from the wall when needed. Once the layout is built and wired, you probably won't be needing to get to the back side as often as you think you will.