Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm very new to this hobby, or at least born again to it after owning several DC sets when I was a kid 40 years ago. I've posted several threads asking questions but I decided to start a thread dedicated to just showing off my journey.

Recently I had a room become available over my garage. It had been used for other things, but when it was emptied about a month ago I decided it was time to dive into model trains. It's roughly 10'x20' so I figured I could eventually have table surface going down both sides and then cross in front of the window. The crossing table top would definitely be set about 3' from the window and may even be removable, but at the very least I'd be able to crawl under it.

Here's the empty room.

Train Thread 01.jpg

My first goal (after reading a lot and watching a LOT of YouTube videos) was just to set up tables on one side and then play with a test track just to get to know DCC a little and how a lot of this stuff works. Some of the videos suggested the table be higher than desk level, which made sense, so I decided on 42" to the top of a 3/4" thick foam board. Due to that height I could only reach the back of the table if it were a max of 36' deep. And due to where the stairs are I decided to keep the total length on that side to 16'. Two 8'x3' tables would need to be built.

Here's the first table.

Train Thread 02.jpg

And also because of where the stairs are which come up to this room I didn't want a corner of the table sticking out right where people would walk by. At 42" tall it would poke right in the side of the stomach and could hurt. A rounded corner would help.

Train Thread 03.jpg

So here's my "finished" tables. I ended up making one more significant change to them.

Train Thread 04.jpg