Model Train Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I once tried a few years ago an NCE Powercab and liked it. I want to build an N scale layout with maybe 2 locos with dcc and sound. I see Digitrax has one that seems nice.

What suggestions do you have for me, I'm really a complete rookie to DCC, running 2 locos, that whole consisting thing, the special calibration needed to run 2 of the same locos together.

Is the Digitrax or NCE easier to learn, to operate, to use, than the other? Which system is easier to add a second person or a maybe a 3rd loco?

·
Registered
4,566 Posts
Plenty of guys here will recommend one or the other of the two you mentioned. I suggest you do some online research. Try to answer your own questions. Learn about the various systems on the market and decide which one YOU would prefer to have. Good luck. :smilie_daumenpos:

·
Registered
9,897 Posts
Of the two, I would have to say that the NCE is probably easier to learn. They both have pretty much the same capabilities, though. You also might want to have a look at MRC's Prodigy2 systems, as well as Roco's z21. Those are all very comparable systems and will do everything you need. It's very easy to add a second cab (and more) to all 4.

It really boils down to whose "human engineering" features you prefer. Human engineering refers to how the user interacts with the unit (display, buttons, knobs / thumbwheels, touch screens, etc). If you can get to a train show where you can try them for yourself, so much the better.

Pretty much, most everyone will recommend the brand they own. I'm a happy MRC user, and I would definitely recommend it, but try the others as well, and see which you prefer.

·
Registered
840 Posts
My suggestions:

Digikeijs DR5000 (looks to be cheaper, has built-in wifi, but a little more work to set up)
or
Roco z21 ("white box" version, also called "z21 Start").