Model Train Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well im starting on a layout. and im gonna be using all brass atlas track.
i have been messing with layout designs and i think i finally got one i like.
im looking for any input on form and function.. willing to take any suggestions.. im really a noob so help me out.

Attachments

·
Registered
344 Posts
Your layout design is very close to my layout and I can tell you the biggest problem I had was my turns weren't big enough. I was able to get most my turns to 19-20"'s but that wasn't enough for the Dash 8's and SD-60-70's I wanted to run. So, with that being said, since you didn't include dimensions, I'd say make sure your turns can support the type of engine you wish to run. Just to start lol...

·
Registered
2,951 Posts
*. what do you like in your layout?
*. how are you going to run it? (haul what and where). what is the purpose of double crossover in the middle and the top?
*. what equipment are you going to run? are you sure your big boy steamer or sd70mac will fit on the tiny turntable?
*. what is the purpose of the yard on the bottom? is the track that will hold 1-2 cars usefull?
*. do you have access to all 4 sides? if not you will have troubles reaching.

its up to you of course, but with that much track i shiver at the thought of effort that will be required to keep the brass clean enough to run trains. throw the brass away (or give it to the kid next door)

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for all the input.
*. what do you like in your layout?
size and multiple routes
*. how are you going to run it? (haul what and where). what is the purpose of double crossover in the middle and the top?
im not too sure of load yet. mainly box cars and ore.
double crossovers are for ease of access and passing hence almost identical outer loops
*. what equipment are you going to run? are you sure your big boy steamer or sd70mac will fit on the tiny turntable?