Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, a real newbie here who could use some help (maybe). I'm building my first layout and have gotten stuck on wiring turnouts. I have a Digitrax Zephyr Express train controller, using Atlas track and remote controlled switches.

Do I use the output power from the Zephyr? If so, I assume I can just tap into the bus line that I`ve run under the table. Correct?

If not, what am I going to need need to power the turnouts? I think I`m most confused about powering them separately if that is what it takes. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
318 Posts
If you have the Atlas snap turnouts and are planning to use the button bundled with the turnouts then you will need a separate DC power supply. You can’t use the track feeds off the Zephyr.

A better alternative than the Atlas button is the Stapleton 751D unit which includes a toggle switch and a built in Capacitive Discharge Unit. This is better than the Atlas button because if you hold down the Atlas button too long you’ll burn out the turnout motor. With the 751D there is no possible way to burn it out.

You can use the Zephyr to control your Atlas turnouts however. You’ll need to purchase some additional components such as a Digitrax DS64.

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
I'm not exactly sure I fully understand your question. I'm guessing your remote control turnouts are using solenoid motors with momentary push buttons to change position and you're using them independently from the Zephyr throttle. I'm assuming you are NOT asking about using the Zephyr to throw the turnouts using DCC. If you are, then what I'm about to write is not going to answer your question.