Model Train Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to all of this. I am looking into a set/layout for my son that is going to be 1 soon. I know this is early but i'm looking for a hobby for the family and I think this is the one. What I know so far is I want HO scale and a 4'x6' or 4'x8' layout. My questions are
1. Should I start with a set or piece everything together?
2. I want all the lights, smoke and noises but is steam locos harder to work with? Steam or diesel?
3.What brand is easy to start with and is good? I don't mind spending more for better but have no clue on anything.
4. What is with the locos that have 0-2-0 nu,bers and what do they mean?
Anything you think I need to know whould be most helpful. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,617 Posts
Welcome!

A set is good because you will get the transformer and some track... Of course if you are planning to create a large layout in the near future you would probably need a more powerful transformer... Just remember that different track from different manufacturers usually does not work together...

The numbers like that refer to the axles on a steam locomotive... It is referred to as Whyte notation... The first number refers to the leading truck, the middle numbers refer to the sets of drive wheels, and the last number refers to the trailing truck... Like the picture below would be a 2-4-2 locomotive...

·
Schizophrenic Engineer
3,076 Posts
Trains grow with the family

IMHO. keeping in mind there are as many ways to do a lay out as there are people in this hobby. There are hobby trains and there are toy trains. I have both. For a Young family it is good to start with the toys, then as the family grows move in to the hobby trains.

1. Should I start with a set or piece everything together?
I agree with Boston and Maine. Starter sets are toys and great for kids.

2. I want all the lights, smoke and noises but is steam locos harder to work with? Steam or diesel?