Model Train Forum banner

New guy is completely overwhelmed

3K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  traction fan 
#1 ·
I have no experience with model railroading. I love the concept and am excited to get started. But... the more I learn the more I find I don't know where to start. I'm hoping you can help me sort through it all and guide me in a good direction. Here is my current line of thought... I'm hoping to get your opinions:

-I want to buy quality from the get-go. It seems to be a very expensive hobby. I don't want to waste my money and time on sub-par equipment. Also realism is important to me. Therefore:
-Locomotive: Kato or Bachmanm
-Track: Micro Engineering Code 55 (flex? or not?)
-Turnouts: Micro Engineering
-metal wheelsets
-Trucks and couplers: micro trains

-Another important aspect for me is to be able to watch my train(s) and not control it. I'm not sure how possible this is due to my inexperience but with my (limited) understanding of DCC, I think this may be possible. What I mean is I would like the ability to program the train route, switches, direction, etc. as much as possible. What should I look for in a controller/software to make this possible?

Thank you in advance for your feedback!
-Slim

-

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome! I don't do n-scale, but I too like to have my trains run automated, because currently I run only a holiday layout (though in the past i had o scale trains as a kid). My trains need to run automated while we do other things. Other people like to run their trains manually, and that's cool, too.

I use some controllers to do the automation for my needs (you can find some information in my posting history) but there are other options like JMRI automation. I have no experience with that stuff, but will be interested to read what others say.

Good luck.

#3 · (Edited)