Model Train Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys I was wondering if I could run a dcc loco and run it on just normal electric rails (bachmann flextrack with electric power)(I’m sorry I am new to this and I don’t know he vocabulary very good)this is the ez track power thing I’m using thanks a lot

·
Registered
828 Posts
Welcome, Gustavoo!! 👋
SHORT answer is yes. BUT it may not be just as simple as that.

·
Registered
828 Posts
If your DCC ready loco has a jumper in place of the decoder, You are good to go.
If your DCC decoder is dual mode, AND programmed for DC running, you are good to go.
Otherwise, you will need someone to set the decoder correctly.
That's the rough overview, but someone else can fill in better details!! 😆
Is your Loco new? Do you know what brand of decoder is installed?

·
Registered
1,884 Posts
To clarify a bit:
The decoder in DCC locomotives is designed to be operated by digital control systems, such as Digitrax and NCE. Those systems, and there are tons out there, allow you to use all of the performance characteristics designed into the decoders.

However, you CAN run such locomotives on DC-only rails powered only by the controller you show. NEVER....EVER..MIX THE TWO AND HAVE THEM ATTEMPTING TO POWER THE RAILS AT THE SAME TIME.

You have to find and download the manual for the decoder. See the manufacturer's website. It'll explain how to operate the decoder using DC. You'll lose a lot of benefits, but you can run the locomotive, and it will make sounds for you.

The rail types you use don't matter. If they are the right gauge, and they are clean, they'll power the locomotive and your decoder will work the locomotive for you via your controller.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If your DCC ready loco has a jumper in place of the decoder, You are good to go.
If your DCC decoder is dual mode, AND programmed for DC running, you are good to go.