Model Train Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

Retired about 4 years now. A recent conversation between wife and I about a train around the XMas tree got me into opening up old crates and breaking out my untouched set from 1963. All was in pretty good shape considering. Next thing you know I’m a carpenter and a 12’x8’ coffee table later I’ve spent a fortune creating a model railroad world for yet unborn grandkids... playing with trains has become a reborn pastime that has gotten me through the winter and now the Spring? Anyway, always get googled to this forum when seeking answers and pretty simple to join so here I am. See y’all around down the line...

·
Registered
3,882 Posts
Welcome aboard!

Hi all!

Retired about 4 years now. A recent conversation between wife and I about a train around the XMas tree got me into opening up old crates and breaking out my untouched set from 1963. All was in pretty good shape considering. Next thing you know I’m a carpenter and a 12’x8’ coffee table later I’ve spent a fortune creating a model railroad world for yet unborn grandkids... playing with trains has become a reborn pastime that has gotten me through the winter and now the Spring? Anyway, always get googled to this forum when seeking answers and pretty simple to join so here I am. See y’all around down the line...

Chuck64;

Welcome to the forum! What scale are your trains from 1963? A layout 12' x 8' sounds like a good size, as long as you don't have it up against a wall or two. Then access to the middle might be a problem. We have plenty of grandpas here who have built layouts at least nominally for the enjoyment of their grandchildren. You are the first I know of who has built a layout for grandchildren who haven't even been born yet! Now that takes some serious imagination! :laugh:

again Welcome;

Traction Fan :smilie_daumenpos:

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4