Model Train Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning to put up a shelf with 3 side by side tracks (with interconnects) around the perimeter of my basement. I would like to have at least 3 locos running on this setup, and would like to eventually install a working signaling system, and have the trains stop at stations on the route. I work in IT so learning something new in technical is exciting. My question is what is the best DCC system to go to that can do all this functionality, that is still someone simple to use and not crazy expensive. I have looked at Hornby railmaster as an option. Want opinions on what the best options for what i want to do would be?

Thanks!

·
Registered
8,679 Posts
Any of the major DCC systems on today's market
would match what you need for your layout.

The most popular systems are: Digitrax, NCE, MRC and Bachmann EZ.
There are others. All of these would have sufficient
power to run 3, 4 or even more non sound locos at the same time, each individually controlled by your system. The difference is mainly in the way the controller is physically designed. Some prefer the way make A works while others like another brand simply because 'it' feels more comfortable.

A starter system comes with power supply and controller
that connects to the track.
You can add wireless or wired hand held controllers that
are nice if you have friends or family who will run trains
with you. Each could control one or more trains.

With any of the systems, should your system grow and you add sound locos, you would have the option of adding a power booster to what you have.

As one familiar with digital systems, you may want to
bypass the EZ system. It lacks ability to fine tune
loco decoders. The other systems can do that.

There are products on the market that enable signal systems.
These may need 'isolated' blocks to work. You might
read up on them before you install track. One major brand is AZATRAX.