Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Richard, My grandson is fascinated with trains and asked if I would build him a ho train layout. My hobby is woodworking and I have a background in electronics but know nothing about building a model train layout. My grandson lives with us and is disabled so I need to make it functional for him.
So, where should I start, books, magazines, and what should I look for?

·
Registered
106 Posts
Hey Richard,
First of all, welcome to the forum. I am new to model railroading as well. This website is one of many excellent resources and there are many experts here on the forum daily that have always helped me out when I asked.

As some have mentioned, books are an excellent resource as well, I have copied some pics that auto populated on my screen when I opened your post.

I also love going to model railroader’s website and they have some great videos their as well. They have tips from a beginner layout to videos on some much more detailed layouts. I am sure that more will chip in as they log on today, but I wanted to say hello as well.

Gary

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
Welcome

Many choices, HO O S
Go here and let your grandson/self and start reading.

You could start easy, hollow core door, some short legs, put it on the floor.
An oval of track and a engine and a few cars.

·
Registered
8,690 Posts
Richard

A very big warm welcome to the Forum. You'll find here a membership of long experienced modellers who also
enjoy helping others join our merry band.

Starting from scratch with no experience can be daunting, but we'll be glad to help
where we can.

The first factor to be considered...the space you have available for a layout. Generally speaking,
you would need to have room for a 5 X 10 or so benchwork. I say 5 wide to make possible
a curve radius that most HO locomotives can run on.