Model Train Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Just joined the forum and I am looking for some help. I am new to the hobby. Right now I have a N scale layout, thats about 60% complete. The track is layed and ballast. All wires are hanging below, ready to be terminated. I have 4 Turnouts, the layout is about 2X4. Very compact, I have some feed wire soldered to the tracks and there hanging below as well.

Here is where I need your help. How is this all tied together? Do I tie in all feed wires to a terminal strip then link it back to the power pack? How are the turnouts wired? 3 wires are coming out of them (red, green, black)

also, I want to star putting lights into the buildings in the future, how do I go about doing this? Are the wires tied into the power pack?? If so, what kind of power pack would I need

I know these are newbee questions and I probably left alot of questions unanswered, if so let me know and I'll get back to you with the answer. Thanks so much... if there is a website with this information,please direct me to it. Thanks again!:confused:

·
Registered
5,163 Posts
Plasticman, welcome to the forum! Nice to have you with us, and newbie questions are all good questions. Let me suggest you identify what manufacturer of train you have, what transformer, etc. That makes it easier for those with similar equipment to help you. You either have a very basic transformer with a single hot (variable output, with the speed controll ever) and single ground post, or you have one with one hot that is variable and another that is costant-voltage.
If you have only the one hot (variable) post, let me suggest getting another transformer to power your turnouts and accessories, or a better transformer with both kinds of hot posts. You need constant voltage for your turnouts, lights, etc. to work well.