Model Train Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all let me say that i am a total newbie. I recently unboxed a train set that i have had for about 25 years. It has probably been hooked up 5 times in 25 years and has not been run in 15 years. I eventually would like to hook it up on some type of track in my son's room... (he is the 1st and on the way). But for now i just want to get it running. It is a Bachman HO set with an engine, and several cars. Other than that i don't know much about it. The trace is oval and has about 12 curved pieces, (6 on each end) and 10 straight pieces, (5 on each side). All of the pieces appear to be brass track, and are slightly tarnished. As it is right now it have hooked it up in the oval configuration. It will run but is very "rough". certain parts of the track it will run on and then stop. The track connections are loose. i assume they can be tightened up with a slight crimp with some needle nose pliers ??

1. I guess i need to clean the track, but am not quite sure as to how to do it? I m guessing by the roughness on certain parts of the track that the track is the problem, not the engine. It will run at a pretty good speed on certain sections.

2. Do i need to try and tighten up the connections. What can i do to help this?

3. What else do i need to know. What types of tracks are possible, and where can i find out what kind i have. The one i have has a "coupler" on one side of one rail and the other side on the adjoining piece that the track slide into.

4. Do i need to do anything to the engine. Does the motors need to be cleaned, I am pretty handy and can do whatever is needed.