Model Train Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Forum,

I am a recent newbie - to say its been many years since I had my train layout and it seems much has changed in the tech side certainly. My son has taken an avid interest and I am looking to plan and work with him to build a small HO layout. It is this basis that drives the questions:

FYI - I was looking to make the period circa mid 30's to late 40's. (et. steam?) city mountains theme -European old town - eg Austria

Questions:
1. wanted to passenger trolley car - smaller gauge track I assume, have this in the city area on an automated program (possible ?) any pointers

2. Any great guides on HO layouts (specifically for limited space) looking for min curve and clearance, incline guides, tunnels dimensions etc.....

·
Registered
9,865 Posts
Have you checked the Layout Design Forum here?

There are suggested and actually operating layouts
of various sizes.

The best way to take advantage of the layouts is
to see them as pieces of a puzzle. You might like
a Yard in one layout, a scenic area in another, and
so on. Then you use your creativity to assemble
them into your own unique track plan.

You mention streetcars (Trams) as a possibility.
Most systems use a standard or near standard
gauge, but there are a few narrow gauge systems.
You'll find the widest selection of streetcar models
in HO scale.

Don

·
Registered
12,295 Posts
There are track plans all over the place. As Don said, we have two sticky threads in the layout design section with a bunch of them; Model Railroader magazine has an entire database available to subscribers, and there are dozens of books available. Take your pick.

There are a number of trolleys available that run on normal HO standard gauge. Since space is limited, you might want to get one of those (they're all US prototypes, though; no Euroopean stuff that I've seen).

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
Welcome aboard!

Hi Forum,