Model Train Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here starting from scratch
Keep thinking I want a theme train and the Circus would seem to be cool to do
I've joined a club that models the local area with operations present day. Seems to me, Circus Trains ran basically everywhere and anywhere they entertained and a case can be made it's the appropriate definition of prototype no matter where the layout models.
I'm not sure if there are any more present day circus trains running but I love the F3 era and I would start with a ABBA F3 or similar and go from there.
looking for comments, opinions, helpful advice
I haven't done much research yet, but will in the days to come.
I would start with RTR is there is such and go from there.
Thanx much.

·
Registered
671 Posts
Yes there are some circus cars around. I have one. Think they were AHM. Probably others made them too. They are old time types. I’m not sure there are any newer types RTR but there may be. eBay is a good source.
The modern Ringling cars were largely modified from passenger equipment. Those trains were very long and also had flat cars to carry vehicles.

Modifying passenger cars to circus cars would be a nice kitbashing project.
There’s tons of photos on the web of the Ringling trains and I’m sure other companies as well.
Sounds like a fun project. Please keep us posted on your project.
And yes, I think there is one circus company that still has a train. Ringling ceased operations last year. ☹

·
Registered
639 Posts
There are allot of R2R circus trains out there. I think just about every train maker had one or more. You are right that most are going to be from the F era.

A quick search of eBay will show you lots of those.