Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello just bought a Lionel legacy big boy here. Now it says in Lionel listing it requires a minimum O-72 track.. is this scale?? I bought 2 different cars for this thing I got 2 scale box cars which are big, and 4 O-gauge passenger cars that look too small. The guy by my house owns a store says I want scale cars, as the loco is so big. This could cost me a lot of money if I don’t figure out what to buy here. Lionel says their high end stuff is a higher gauge, but I’m just getting into this and don’t know what that means..

·
Registered
568 Posts
There is a link above which explains the differences but please excuse me - your post seems odd in that you apparently purchased a high end locomotive without this prior experience. Do you have an O Scale layout?

·
Registered
3,476 Posts
Full length O scale 85' passenger cars are really long. Most O scale passenger cars are underscale and compressed in dimension.

Much like some foreign HO passenger cars that are actually 1/100 scale instead of 1/87. You have to pay attention to the descriptions before you order.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have o gauge fast track using o-96 curves so the overhang isn’t as bad. Legacy remote. Everything works fine. I just don’t fully understand the car part I guess.

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
Chris, that's a tricky question. If you look in the O gauge forum here there is a sticky that helps to explain.

Post war were a compressed size to negotiate O27 and O31 curves. Now some of your high end modern is full scale (1/48) and needs O72 curves.

·
Registered
816 Posts
Welcome to model train hobby.

Scale is size in relation to reality. In the US true O "scale" is 1/48 but much of the ruling stock like your passenger cars is compressed in scale and made smaller to go around tight curves. Your Boxcar might be what is known as "scale".