Model Train Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just completed my first structure on my 1830's layout, a Livery Stable from an American Model Builders wood kit. Results are satisfactory so far, but will need additional detailing, especially a sign. I've never made one before so I wanted to ask here how best to approach an old wooden sign board to place above the door just below the pitched roof:

IMG_3377 copy.JPG

Ideally I'd like the Livery name be printed on an actual sign board as opposed to directly on the building itself, similar to the below image:

Livery copy.jpg

What would be the best way to approach? Stencil? Would anyone be able to recommend a source for fonts? I'm completely new to decals.

·
Registered
1,771 Posts
The sign in your picture is very professional, but I suspect many signs during that era were simply homemade. The end result was often a sign that didn't get the spelling right.

If you want a wood sign use the craft sticks available at fabric stores (tongue depressor or popsickle width). Print your sign on paper and play with the scaling to get it the size you want. Paste it onto the wooden backing.

Lettering was never my thing, although I've known some that could do great jobs from scratch. The problem as I see it is they were doing 1:1 lettering or larger. You need small lettering to fit your HO scale building. Plenty of fonts available on your computer!

Don't forget the proprietor's name! That was an important part of signs from that period.

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
I've seen some utube videos of techniques for transferring a laser print onto an object. You reverse the print, print, and there was a way to transfer the printing while basically dissolving away the paper. Sorry as I don't recall anything more. This morning I remembered where I put my keys and that by itself was amazing.

·
Registered
9,164 Posts