Model Train Forum banner

Paint

2K views 21 replies 6 participants last post by  Panther 
I have often thought about the oven trick too but didn't know what temp or for how long. That red sure does look great. I too do glass beading because it doesn't etch the metal but leaves it smooth. Self etching primer is all I use like flyernut said after the glass beading process. I can adjust the air pressure for softer metals to avoid damage.

Kenny

I have no experience with a sand blaster. I have questions. Do you use a booth,
like a paint booth, how much do they cost, where do you get the medium like
glass beads. Pics would be helpful. Can the medium be used over again. My son
is a manager at a Harbor Freight Tool store. They have blasters and he could get
me a deal on one. And I have a couple air compressors. And a large air tank. I
guess I would need to get a regulator to adjust the air pressure. I can do up to
140 PSI. I would imagine that is too much.
Mopac, Somebody I know just bought a blaster from Harbor Freight. Mine is a Snap-On that I've had for 20+ years. There really isn't much to them. Just a big metal cabinet with a door to open to put your parts in and close. A glass window is there so you can see what you are doing. There will be heavy rubber gloves to put your hands into to run the sprayer.
Yes the glass beads can be used over several times. Eventually it will be more dust than beads. But since we are talking small parts here the glass beads will last a while. I have a double cylinder air compressor since I used to do a lot of car parts and needed lots of air so I don't lose air pressure. A smaller compressor should be fine for what we are talking about. As to cost, Harbor Freight is your friend. Unless you are in the car restoration business like I was, you don't need a Snap-On. Very pricey. You will however need an air regulator in line. Yes 140 PSI is way too much.