Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
385 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys/gals. I am very new to this hobby. I know little to nothing about it. Upon finding out my interest, my buddy who collects random things handed me a bag of parts that he knew nothing about. I found a couple of them were basic controllers by life like company. The other is what I am posting here about. It is an old looking engine. Still turns extremely smooth and looks to be in good shape. The wiring could definately be redone but looks in good shape otherwise. The only identification I can find is on the bottom it has the Lionel metal plate and says "O" Gauge. There is a cylinder near the top that looks to be made of cardboard or something that says "25" in larger numbers and I believe (hard to make out) it says "14" in smaller numbers to the right of the 25. Are there any other places to look for identifying markers? I will try to get a pic up tonight when I am home from work. Would love to know what this is as from my little bit of reading seems that Lionel O gauge stuff is fairly sought after. Thanks for any info you can provide.

·
Yard Master & Research
10,643 Posts
Sorry no clue. Try a picture (after 10 postings). Or give us a link. If the numbers are worn some may be missing. It is a lot more fun with a picture but I understand you excitement in trying to find out. Engines are normally 3 or four digits and a 2514 isn't pone of them.
Engine type,color,cab number.
Show the parts box too!
If you enjoy used quality you can keep expenses down. It doesn't take much to fill a table.
Welcome to MTF.
Hopefully it's not American Flyer.:rolleyes:

·
Premium Member
16,666 Posts
There is a cylinder near the top that looks to be made of cardboard or something
T-Man ... he's got me on that one. Could he be talking about a name i.d. on the top/front of a prewar boiler?