Model Train Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I can find potato field plants & workers (and I have the railcars)... but what downstream industries are there?

I've seen a very small sized potato farm shack but I'd like something bigger. From there, I guess there is just the Walthers 'Universal Food' business. I thought there was something more potato specific - like the french fry or potato chip factory structure?

Any ideas or links to anything? Otherwise I suppose I'd have to kitbash (which I am NOT good at).

·
Registered
2,290 Posts
Any factory building could be a potato chip plant. Just hang a sign on it.
Vodka distiller, warehouse distributor.

·
Registered
10,505 Posts
Any staging track.

Because potatoes grown in the area represented by even a huge, basement filling layout, would travel by truck to any industry close enough to also be represented on your layout.

A staging area, though, can be anything you want it to be. Potato chips, starch, processed foods, a vodka distillery, a Five Guys distribution warehouse on the other side of the country, whatever. Point is that you don't need to represent whole industry chains on your layout. It's more realistic not to.

·
Registered
341 Posts
Once harvested, potato's are stored in large warehouses, covered in a layer of dirt, and kept chilled to prevent them from sprouting. I worked on the SLRG for a while, and we would interchange refers of potato's, from the SLC. I haven't been past it for a few years, but there was a McCain's potato processing plant at Grand Island NE, that is switched by rail. According to Apple maps, it is still there. Used to be an Ore-Ida plant.

·
Registered
10,505 Posts
pet peeve...please spell out acronyms.....please