Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Glad to find this forum. I’m new to model trains. I’m hoping to find information from your expertise on this forum. I recently acquired my first used Lionel O gauge train but the power supply it came with is not a Lionel brand. It has a 16 volt DC output. I’m wondering if I could use it to power the train. I’ll attach photos of the train and power supply.

Attachments

·
Registered
4,301 Posts
I looked for a manual for 6-8568 at Lionel. Does your loco look like one of these? If your loco has one or two Pullmor motors like the ones pictured, it will run on either AC or DC. Lionel made a few locos in those days that would only run on DC, but most will run on either AC or DC. BTW, it looks to me like your MPC AMPACK has both an AC and a DC output.

View attachment 1982 F3.pdf

View attachment 18363Complete.pdf

·
Registered
1,969 Posts
The AMPACK 402 had variable DC for the train and a fixed AC output for accessories. Lehigh74's loco diagram seems to indicate the loco has AC universal motors (i.e., they'll run on AC or DC).

The issue is the capacity of the 402 at 20 VA (1.25 amps @ 16 V). That may not be enough to drive the dual motors in the F3.

I think you should try it with just the loco. If that gets the loco moving at any type of reasonable speed, then add cars. Once the the loco's draw exceeds the 402's limits, it will shut down.

At that point, an optimum choice for a transformer upgrade would depend on your vision of trains in your future. A simple, seasonal Christmas tree set-up or building a multi-train layout in the basement, attic, where ever ...

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5