Model Train Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to use 36" Atlas flex track with a cork bed for my HO setup. I have never used flex track before.

How do I get the power (i.e. wiring) to the 36" flex track? Do I use a shorter insert piece of track with the connection device?

Please post a link or picture.

Thanks

·
16,666 Posts
Soldering power leads is the way to go.

Nice video, Tap ... good tip using wet cotton balls to avoid melting ties.

TJ

·
Registered
219 Posts
I also enjoyed the video, found it helpful.

But why is soldering the way to go? I have one of these Atlas tracks with a plastic attachment on the side where I screw my wires in. It seems to work.

Also, soldering two rails together where they join, is this for stability or to improve the electrical contact? :confused:

·
Registered
2,951 Posts

But why is soldering the way to go? I have one of these Atlas tracks with a plastic attachment on the side where I screw my wires in. It seems to work.
when you look at real railroad do you ever see track with plastic attachments on a side? exactly :)

·
Registered
2,138 Posts

Also, soldering two rails together where they join, is this for stability or to improve the electrical contact? :confused:
Soldering the wires allows you to place a lead wherever it is needed. If you have a block that is one large loop of a non-standard radius you do not need to fudge the curve to fit a terminal track in. Also t does not require a joiner to power a track. I prefer to place the leads in the middle of each block.