Model Train Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am brand new to dcc. I have a Digitrak Zephyr. Where do I tie in my ac accessories to this controller? I have a Kato 24-844 to power. Says connect to AC 17v output. No AC connectors on the Digitrak. Do I tie into the track feed or what am I missing??

·
Registered
4,160 Posts
I am brand new to dcc. I have a Digitrak Zephyr. Where do I tie in my ac accessories to this controller? I have a Kato 24-844 to power. Says connect to AC 17v output. No AC connectors on the Digitrak. Do I tie into the track feed or what am I missing??
Mguistolise;

You can't POWER accessories, whether AC or DC, from any DCC system. The accessories should be powered by their own, separate power supply. This can be an old DC/AC power pack, or one of those little black "wall wart" plug-in power supplies that LOOK LIKE those used to charge a cell phone, but are the type with an AC output, rather than the more common DC types like actual phone chargers. If you must have AC for your Kato 24-844, whatever that is, then you could also use a common doorbell transformer. They reduce 120 volt AC house current to about 16 volts AC on their output terminals. I've got a whole box full of the things and you can have one for the price of shipping if you want.

It is possible to CONTROL accessories with a DCC system, but to do that, you use a device called a DCC "stationary decoder." Like the decoder inside a DCC locomotive, a stationary decoder receives digital signals addressed to it from your Digitrax DCC system. It then sends out the appropriate AC or DC voltage to the accessory, to make it work. Some stationary decoders can operate more than one accessory. Check the Digitrax website for stationary decoders. It may be that with such a decoder, you won't need the separate transformer, wall wart, or power pack. The stationary decoder itself may provide the necessary output voltage.