Model Train Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi there...im actually a newbie that got bit by the train bug:)

i've been doing a lot of reading about model trains and i'm soon will be buying my first set. I came across these president's choice train sets and was wondering if they are a good set to start with. what are the pros and cons of this set??? who made these trains and how's the quality of it???

also...could you guys suggest me a good starter set that will be of good quality and that can last. i would really want to get a steam loco rather than a deisel as my kid really likes the steam trains.

thanks!

·
Registered
5,163 Posts
jun, welcome to the forum!

It's hard to answer your question, as there's some basic information you need to provide. First, how much space do you have available? Second, how old is your kid, and can you leave the train set up permanently, or do you have to take it down after every use? Finally, how much can you afford to spend? All of these things play into the decision. If you can fill in the blanks, I'm sure suggestions will be forthcoming.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the reply...

to answer your questions...space will be no problem as i will put this set in my basement. i could probably use an easy 12'x15' space down there. my kid is only 4 but he's not the type of kid who grabs and throws stuffs so i dont have to worry about him breaking the trains and stuff. and yes i would like to have the layout/set permanently set-up and i would also like to have it expanded as we go on with this hobby. lastly, to start i could probably afford something in the 150-300 dollar range for a set.

thanks again and any input would be appreciated.

·
Registered
5,256 Posts
Welcome...