Model Train Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Pros & Cons of Ez Track and DCC Question

Hello all, very new to the hobby. I have been racing slot cars for over two years and decided to make the switch when the group split up and I was driving 2 hours round trip to race never mind fighting with the wife every Friday night to let me go.

I decided to go Ho scale, DCC style, and atlas track for my layout. My question is should I go with ez track for my lay out instead of trying to guess what radius curves I need or trying to guess how many straights will work in any given section. Or should I go with the traditional atlas track. The table size is 14'-1" long X 7'-4" wide with some room to expand. If anyone has any advice please feel free to share. Also, would I need anything else to run the trains other then the handheld dcc device?

Brian

·
Registered
163 Posts
I tried some of EZ Track once, but didn't like the acoustics. Being hollow underneath the road bed added more unnecessary noise. Thinking that it would be different with Atlas True Track, I tried that, and also to no avail. You could try Kato Uni-Track but you'd be limited to the types of curves and turnouts; I heard a modeling enthusiast say that he never had to clean his uni-track demo layout ever since he set it up last year.
Perhaps you could add some clay or some type of material under the road bed to deaden the sound.