Model Train Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few years back I bought some Athearn Genesis locomotives before my train layout became a reality. I’m a newbie to this therefore, my question is, am I stuck with having to buy Athearn rolling stock to run with my locomotives or am I able to buy another manufacturer? I will be needing some passenger cars yet I want to make sure I’m clear on this before proceeding.

Thanks.

·
Registered
9,252 Posts
You can use any brand car with any brand locomotive...You simply
must have couplers that match. The 'near' standard in the HO scale
are knuckle couplers, like used on real railroads...(Kadee, tho other
brands are compatible). You
can remove and replace any non matching coupler with one that
does. A fairly simple procedure.

Likewise, your locos will run on any brand power packs if they
are DC. You'll need any brand DCC controller if they have on board DCC decoders.

If you need help with any of these conversions just let us know.

Don

·
Premium Member
6,343 Posts
Athearn couplers are compatible with any other brand of contemporary North American HO rolling stock.
They are plastic however, and will last for a year or so before they give up the ghost... some might last a little longer.

For a long-term (and reliable) solution, you can convert to Kadee or ProtoMax couplers.
The listing on the Kadee Coupler Conversion index is quite inclusive, and will likely include whatever you have.
Some premium brands of rolling stock, e.g., ExactRail, Tangent, etc., come equipped with them.

ProtoMax couplers (same as Kadee #5's) are made by Walthers, and come standard on all Walthers Proto and MainLine cars and locomotives.
Like Kadees they're available in bulk packs.

·
Registered
11,103 Posts
Athearn couplers are compatible with any other brand of contemporary North American HO rolling stock.