Model Train Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Trying to get an old rw transformer working. The 60 ohm resister across the circuit protector is broken, see pic. suggestions for sourcing replacement. Thx! im a newbie, so if I am using wrong terminology , and it’s not a resister, sorry in advance.

Automotive tire Circuit component Motor vehicle Electronic engineering Gas

·
Registered
233 Posts
It looks like from end blue,red,black,silver.
If so that's a 62 ohm 10% carbon 5 watt (by size). Very common, you could verify value with a multimeter on Rx1, one lead existing wire, other lead to center broken off piece in center.
It may be 2 or 3 watt, but plenty of room for 5 watt. Wire wound is fine. Any electronic supplier (Mouser, Digikey, etc., Ebay) would have it.

Sent from my SM-S205DL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,791 Posts
Lionel's service manual (attached) calls for a 50 ohm resistor of 2 - 3 watts for both the original wire wound and the alternate part. Hard to argue with the color code at 62 ohms.

I'd order a 5 W resistor. Digikey doesn't seem to have it or similar offerings. I did find These Resistors on Ali Express. But you'll have to wait for the "Slow Boat from China" to get them 3 to 6 weeks. It would be the same for similar eBay offerings that come from China. You can use the transformer w/o the resistor until you get it (obviiusly remove the broken part). Operating in like that and you lose the Red Bulb indicator iif the circuit breaker trips.

FYI: Black lampcord is hard to come by in the standard brick-n-mortar stores. But my local Walmart had 6', 16 gauge black lampcord extension cords in there "electrical department" for a buck two eleven ;) ... $1.67 IIRC. If you wanted to get rid of the white cord.

Welcome to the forum and good to see you restoring the older stuff :)

Product Font Rectangle Parallel Screenshot

Attachments

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·