Model Train Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Train Friends!
I'm new to trains. This year, I am unfortunately isolated from friends and family. I really need to add some Christmas magic to my house. I want to get an under-the-tree christmas train but my tree goes in a very small space. (see photo) Tree will go where keyboard is. Space is at most 25" x 50"

Any recs for a train set that would fit there? Thanks!!

·
Registered
3,205 Posts
Welcome to the MTF! It is great that you want to include a train. This may not be of much help but when faced with a space dilemma as you have, my reaction is to change the rules. Here is a picture to demonstrate. The corner was too small so I put the tree there but put the layout in the center of the room, covering over the ottoman. The wide angle lens makes the space appear larger than it is. Whatever you choose I hope it works out well.

D7A2E2F6-7745-4493-ADEA-3336352D2012.jpeg

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to the MTF! It is great that you want to include a train. This may not be of much help but when faced with a space dilemma as you have, my reaction is to change the rules. Here is a picture to demonstrate. The corner was too small so I put the tree there but put the layout in the center of the room, covering over the ottoman. The wide angle lens makes the space appear larger than it is. Whatever you choose I hope it works out well.

View attachment 549804
Oh wow, your set up looks great! Thank you for the suggestion.

·
Registered
2,537 Posts
One of the smaller scales would probably be what you'd need if you can't squeak out more than the 25"x50".

If you can squeeze a bit bigger than the 25" width, you might try an On30 set from Bachmann. The trains are O scale (Lionel train size) models of narrow gauge locomotives and cars, so they're big enough to stand out a bit more but not overly huge by nature and run on HO gauge track.