Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Being my first post here, perhaps a little context - I'm totally new to the hobby. My 4-year old absolutely loves trains (what 4-yr old doesn't?) and we've ridden some real ones, been to the Illinois Railway Museum a few miles away from us, he loves going to the "train store" to see if the trains are running, I've taken him to a couple train shows (locally-run and iHobby) and finally, after what must seem forever to his little sense of time - Santa brought him his very own HO train set (though he still loves his Thomas/Brio stuff just as much.)

Being on a budget, I tried to get him the most bang for the buck. So that meant a Lifelike train set with additional track to make a kid-interesting layout on a 4x8 kid-height bench. A couple logging operating accessories and he's in heaven. There was no way I could make that layout with higher-end parts for him without spending a bunch more (unless perhaps I laid my own track? Just seemed too big a prospect starting out.) I am spending a tiny bit more money every so often to upgrade the trucks, add Kadee couplers, weight the cars, we'll model some more scenery, add buildings - basically there's room to grow. My immediate problem is the turnout throw.

Currently he runs around and manually throws the switches to "conduct" his train. That's great for a while so he can learn how the train moves based on which way the points throw. However, I plan to make a control box with track-side right-of-way indicator lights. I'm having a heck of a time getting the switches to throw reliably electronically. They buzz - caused by them vibrating back and forth REALLY fast and often end up in the same position. That won't do. When I eventually wire lights, the indicator will change but the track won't then they'll be out of sync and confuse the little guy.