Model Train Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello - what's a recommended or the best DCC decoder (and speaker) replacement for a Bachmann 4-8-4 Northern? Looking for optimal performance and realistic sound.

·
Registered
1,781 Posts
I am going to assume this is HO scale and also that the decoder was factory installed. If so, the decoder is a "sound value" made by Soundtraxx to Bachmann specifications. I have a few and they seem alright but are lacking quite a few features. The decoder/speaker are located in the tender and hopefully a plug and play system. The Econami by Soundtraxx is a reasonable price or the top of the line one would be better still. I have no experience with the other makes, Wow, Lenz, etc. I would stay away from MRC and Digitrax though. For a speaker, get the largest that will fit. Maybe try a different speaker to start with the Sound Value decoder and see if that is acceptable. Good luck and keep us posted as to what you decided.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for your reply Bwells. Yes, it's an HO scale 4-8-4 Northern. I have captured pictures of the decoder in this forum from the stages of me applying details and new paint. https://www.modeltrainforum.com/showthread.php?t=24329

It's the manufacturer DCC decoder (most likely SoundTraxx) that came with the new drive train I purchased from Bachmann to replace from the original 3-pole motor and chassis back in the early 90's for my 4-8-4. However, the decoder was not equipped with sound. After years I have accepted for what it is and, now I want to upgrade it to a better decoder + sound.

I visited SoundTraxx's site. Looks like I'm geared towards to either the TSU-750 Micro-Tsunami (because of the oil tender's awkward cylindrical size, this may work) or the TSU-1000.

Curious to know if you know if ESU Loki decoder are good?

·
Registered
1,781 Posts