Model Train Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I obtained a beautiful, very old model of BART (the San Francisco Bay Area's electric commuter train) from Athearn. The powered car uses a motor with rubber drive belts (rubber bands connecting the drive shafts to the axles). To put it bluntly, this old train barely runs.

I'm not too thrilled about the rubber drive belts and would liked to replace the whole the drive train with a geared drive and new motor. Unfortunately, I have no experience in this area. What parts will I need to make this conversion? And can you point me to any resources that assist me in this project?

Many thanks!

Doug

·
Registered
5,596 Posts
Bart repowering

Doug;

I think you may need hands on help on this one. Is there a train store near you? If so I'd recommend taking your Bart car to them. I remember the drive system you're describing.
It was used on some early diesel locomotives. I had a B&O F-unit loco with rubber band drive.
As I recall, it ran quite smoothly. Have you checked for any binding in the drive shafts? Does the motor run well when disconnected from those shafts? If both are OK, and the wheel/axle assemblies turn freely then it may be a mater of just replacing the rubber bands with new ones.
You may be able to find them at an Office Depot, or Staples, store.
If you're set on getting rid of rubber band drive altogether, then you might consider replacing the whole chaises(everything but the shell) with a more modern loco mechanism.

Good Luck

Traction Fan

·
Registered
9,920 Posts
Possibly the easiest way to upgrade the trucks on that
car is to look for a newer diesel loco frame with geared trucks.
You may have to trim the frame or add to it so the shell
will fit. Just remove the side frames from the trucks to leave the
wheels exposed as Bart car wheels are.

If you are running DCC you'll want a recent year
vintage so that the motor doesn't draw too much
current for the decoder.